The wall fell down flat

I am not a super big fan of the show Seinfeld, but there is one episode that stands out as a brilliant idea someone must have had or maybe even a real life experience that was incorporated into the show. The character George Costanza, a notorious loser that is typically unemployed and unable to get a date, decides to do the opposite of what he usually does in order to turn his life around.

Doing the opposite of what we are used to may not sound that difficult, but anyone that has actually tried to understands that going against our nature, fighting against the impulses that usually govern our behavior is probably the most challenging thing a person can attempt to do. It’s not that the thing itself is hard to do, it’s that doing what comes naturally is so easy, because after all, I am who I am, right?

Well, if you want to be like George Costanza, a goofball that is constantly getting into trouble, that’s fine, but what if you don’t really like getting into trouble?

I would say my least favorite characteristic is I fall in love with every man that gazes into my eyes. You might be thinking, what’s wrong with that? You are a romantic, so what? I don’t mind being a romantic and actually enjoy being in love, but romantic love doesn’t last very long. I could fall in and out of love every week if I didn’t fight against the urge to be swept off my feet by Prince Charming.

To me, falling in love with every man I meet is like the wall surrounding Jericho, it’s keeping me from enjoying the milk and honey of the Promised Land. The wall must come down for me to truly experience the victory and perpetual rest that God has planned for me.

God’s instructions to Joshua made no sense at all from a military standpoint. There was no element of surprise, no show of strength, in fact the only thing they did that resembled a strategy was “the armed men went before the priests that blew with the trumpets” (Joshua 6:9).

I can only imagine how Joshua must have felt when the LORD told him the details of his plan:

And it shall come to pass, that when they make a long blast with the ram’s horn, and when ye hear the sound of the trumpet, all the people shall shout with a great shout and the wall of the city shall fall down flat. (Joshua 6:5)

Probably about the same as I felt when the LORD told me I needed to break up with my 6’4″, gorgeous, quarterback boyfriend. My heart sank. You want me to tell him what? That I’m a Christian and God is the most important person in my life right now…he’s going to think I’ve lost my mind! When he called a few weeks later and told me he wanted me to meet his mother, that he wanted our relationship to be more serious, I was shocked. I didn’t think he would want to marry me because I was a Christian.

Leave a Reply

