The longest day of my life

Turning points are sometimes marked by unique or unusual events that cause them to stand out in our minds many years after the transition is complete. The turning point in the development of the nation of Israel may have come when they defeated five of their most formidable enemies in a single day.

The day the Israelites killed the five kings of the Amorites was not just a day like any other day. On that day “the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and hasted not to go down about a whole day” (Joshua 10:13). You could say the day the Israelites avenged themselves was the longest day ever. It says in Joshua 10:14 “there was no day like that day before it or after it.”

The longest day of my life was the day I overdosed on sleeping pills. After being rushed to the hospital and having my stomach pumped, I was told that I would not be allowed to fall asleep that night. I was placed in a bed that had bright lights shining directly into my face. The nursing staff checked on me frequently and made sure I understood that I was not to close my eyes.

What I didn’t know until later was that I was in a Cardiac Intensive Care Unit because my heart was beating erratically and all of my bodily functions had shut down. In a way, you could say I was already as good as dead and for sure my life was hanging in the balance. There was a good chance I would not make it through the night.

I can’t say I was fighting for my life because the desire to live was still not in me, but I do believe the Lord was fighting for me. In the unseen spiritual realm, there are battles going on all the time. That night, I know there was a struggle between the Lord and Satan and Satan was defeated once and for all, he would no longer have control of my life.

Leave a Reply

