Accidents happen

Several months ago, I was in a car accident. It happened on a road that I travel almost everyday. I had made hundreds, if not thousands of trips on that road and never had a problem until the day someone suddenly pulled out of a gas station and rammed into the side of my car. At first, I thought the person must have done it on purpose. How could she not see my red SUV coming toward her? I had been crossing a busy intersection just before the impact and was shocked when I saw her car coming toward me. There was no way I could avoid the collision.

Solomon said in Ecclesiastes 9:12 that man “knoweth not his time: as the fishes that are taken in an evil net, and as the birds that are caught in the snare, so are the sons of man snared in an evil time, when it falleth suddenly upon them.” According to Solomon, accidents happen to everyone (Ecclesiastes 9:11); there is no way to control things that happen by chance. Therefore, we should make the most of our circumstances.

In my situation, the driver who hit me had insurance and my car was repaired at no expense to me. Afterward, the first few times I drove on that road, I felt anxious when I drove past the spot where the accident happened, but eventually, I was no longer affected by the memory and returned to normal. It didn’t take me long to get over the incident because I knew it was an accident and would likely never happen again.

Leave a Reply

